New aluminum air battery could blow past lithium-ion, runs on water

As battery technologies go, the world has a love-hate relationship with lithium-ion. On the one hand, breakthroughs in Li-ion designs and construction are responsible for theTesla Model S, new installations, green energy research, and the modern smartphone. On the other hand, lithium-ion limitations are the reason why most EVs have a range of 40-60 miles, the Model S costs upwards of $80,000, and why your smartphone can’t last all day on a single charge. For all its promise and capability, lithium-ion has limited long-term utility — which is why a new announcement from Fuji Pigment is so interesting. The company is claiming that its new aluminum-air batteries can run for up to two weeks and be refilled with normal water.

How an aluminum-air battery works

First, some basics. The problem with battery technology isn’t whether or not we can build better batteries — as the chart below shows, we can build batteries that blow traditional lithium-ion out of the water. Keep in mind that the chart below is exponential, meaning that fuel cell technology has 10 times the energy density of a typical cobalt-Li ion battery.

EnergyDensities

The various “Metal-Air” batteries, including zinc-air, aluminum-air, and lithium-air, have some of the highest energy densities its possible to build. The difficulties with aluminum-air construction, in particular, has been rapid degradation of the anode and, in early models of Al-Air, the release of hydrogen gas.

Fuji Pigment’s new announcement makes repeated reference to the work of Ryohei Mori, and while the referenced papers aren’t available for free, the abstracts are online. The studies in question are all aimed at enhancing the performance of Al-air batteries while extending their useful lifetimes — typically, Al-air solutions begin to degrade immediately after the first charge cycle. According to Mori’s work, creating a secondary aluminum-air battery adjacent to the primary buffered the accumulation of byproducts that normally prevent the battery from working properly over the long term.

The “rechargability” of Al-air batteries requires some explanation. Al-air batteries are primary cells, which means they can’t be recharged via conventional means. As the aluminum anode is consumed by contact with oxygen, hydrated aluminum forms as a byproduct. That material can be recycled and used to create a new aluminum anode, which is why the batteries are referred to as rechargeable. Periodically, the aluminum anode will have to be replaced — it’s not clear how often the Fuji Pigment battery would need servicing of this sort.

Could Al-air be the next big thing?

New battery technologies and announcements are a dime a dozen, but there’s reason to think that a workable Al-air technology could deploy within the next 2-5 years. Multiple manufacturers are working on commercializing designs (Alcoa partnered with Phinergy in 2013 with plans for a 2017 debut), and aluminum is abundant and relatively cheap. Al-air batteries have actually been used in specialized military applications for years, which is important — it means there’s some pre-existing expertise and known characteristics that can be leveraged to create additional capacity.

That said, there are question, too. The hydrated aluminum oxide solution produced during the battery’s normal operation would need to be recycled in some fashion, it’s not clear that fresh water is as effective an aqueous solution as saltwater (meaning there might be specific need for one particular kind of solution). The final price is also unknown, though previous estimations had put the cost of an Al-air system at roughly $1.1 per kg of aluminum anode. This was not given in precise terms relative to the cost of gasoline (and the weight of the aluminum anode in these batteries is unknown), but the team that performed that analysis noted that proper recycling would put Al-air in the same cost range as conventional internal combustion engines.

Fuji Pigment has stated that it intends to commercialize this technology as early as this year, which means we could see test demonstrations and proof of concepts by 2016. Whether auto manufacturers will jump for the technology remains to be seen — car companies tend to be conservative and Tesla has already thrown its weight behind the further use of lithium-ion technology.

Tagged , , , , ,

31 thoughts on “New aluminum air battery could blow past lithium-ion, runs on water

  1. sarcasm t shirt says:

    I am sure this post has touched all the internet people,
    its
    really really nice post on building up new blog.

    my webpage … jacket with hoodie: http://msshirts.com

  2. hijab tutorial with earrings says:

    Hello, its fastidious piece of writing on the topic of media
    print, we all be aware of media is a great source of
    facts.

  3. Interesting site mate. Ever try the total email auto responder? It’s free and can generate you a mountain of leads. You can also find a ton of guides on how to use it. Google them!

  4. I want to add a registration form to Joomla.. . I need to be able to edit the fields of the form. . The form needs to register people as users in Joomla, and trigger an HTML welcome email, as well as a notification to an admin about the registration.. . I’ve tried community builder, but you can’t disable things like username, which is irrelevant to me, and the welcome emails won’t do HTML.. . Any suggestions?.

  5. fifa 16 hack says:

    And yes, even aquatic animals will die when they fall into water.

    In some cases the hero would find a dying-warrior in front of the church, who
    would ask the hero to find, the Butcher thereby avenging Tristram’s
    fallen and massacred soldiers. On the presentation to Fifa,
    Prince William said: “Football is part of the fabric of our nation.

  6. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this site.
    I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my
    very own blog now 😉

  7. Anja says:

    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with valuable info to work
    on. You have done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  8. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Cheers

  9. Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this subject for a
    while and yours is the best I have found out so
    far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you certain in regards to the
    supply?

  10. What’s up, of course this post is genuinely pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging.

    thanks.

  11. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed
    browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you
    write again very soon!

  12. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on various websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform.

    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  13. It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before ending I am reading
    this enormous article to increase my know-how.

  14. Desmond says:

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This piece of writing posted at this web page
    is actually nice.

  15. Link exchange is nothing else however it is simply placing the other person’s website link on your page
    at suitable place and other person will also do similar in favor of you.

  16. You can definitely see your expertise within the work you
    write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as
    you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    All the time follow your heart.

  17. rc drones says:

    This article is really a good one it helps new internet viewers, who are wishing for blogging.

  18. Hello my family member! I wish to say that this article is
    awesome, great written and come with almost all important infos.
    I’d like to see more posts like this .

  19. When some one searches for his vital thing, thus he/she wishes to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here.

  20. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just
    wanted to say fantastic blog!

  21. Admiring the dedication you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information.
    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  22. Veronique says:

    Normally I do not learn article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out
    and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, quite great article.

  23. Thurman says:

    Hi, Neat post. There is an issue with your web site in web explorer, may check this?

    IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a good portion of people will pass over your
    magnificent writing due to this problem.

  24. I will immediately grab your rss as I can not to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly let me realize in order that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  25. Louvenia says:

    It’s an amazing article in favor of all the web viewers; they
    will get advantage from it I am sure.

  26. Hey there are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started
    and create my own. Do you need any html coding expertise to make your own blog?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Yes, I am using the wordpress platform. There are two types of wordpress platforms: the “.org” version, and the “.com” version. I am using the “.com” version, because this one is hosted by wordpress servers. The “.org”, though, is a downloadable version, and you need to buy a private server, or maybe, configure your own dedicated server and it makes more fuzz than needed. The “.com” version just seemed work better and simpler for me. It is free while you have a subdomain, but if you want a domain, you have to pay.

  27. Russ says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and
    I hope you write again very soon!

  28. Great post. I used to be checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely useful information particularly the final part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

  29. Drones Tour says:

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful article. Thank you for supplying this info.

  30. Hopefully one of these days we will finally get to see a true breakthrough in battery technology, for which we have been waiting already for years.

Leave a comment